Does Kubb piece count as standing if supported by a baton or other fallen kubb?

0 votes
asked Apr 15, 2013 by Threepeaks Kubbnoob (120 points)
retagged Apr 25, 2013 by thingles

2 Answers

+2 votes
answered Apr 15, 2013 by Eric A. Kubblic ❚ (7,810 points)
9. If a kubb is struck and, without ever becoming parallel to the ground, comes to rest leaning on a game component, the attacking team may ask to temporarily halt play. The defending team is to move the supporting piece(s) a minimum amount required to determine if the leaning piece will fall, without touching the kubb in question. Once a determination has been made, pieces are to be set back as close to their original positions as possible. If a piece will fall, it is considered toppled the remainder of the phase.
Thanks for the question Threepeaks. This is from page six of the US Championship Rules. Note that the field marking stakes are game components.

commented Apr 15, 2013 by Threepeaks Kubbnoob (120 points)
edited Apr 15, 2013 by thingles
Thanks much for the feedback and pointer to the US Championship Rules.
+1 vote
answered Apr 15, 2013 by jakefreeberg Ironkubb ✭ (2,030 points)
I don't think I've ever played with anyone who thinks that it should count "as standing" if it falls when you remove the kubb or baton that is supporting it. Now if you get in to talking about a kubb supported by a corner pin, that's when things get messy.
commented Apr 15, 2013 by anonymous
Thanks for the feedback. Your assumption is indeed backed up by official documentation in the U.S. National rules. I've never seen a kubb end up being supported by corner pin, but there is a first time for everything.