Penalty Kubb placement & toppling opposition field Kubbs

0 votes
asked Jun 26, 2013 by fivelegspider Kubbnoob (120 points)
  1. Why is it that penalty kubbs cannot be placed within a baton's distance from any of the field markers?  I can understand ensuring they're placed at a distance from the king, but why is it forbidden to place them back in a corner, or (for some unfathomable reason) up near the centre line against the sideline?
  2. I do not see anything in the rules covering what would happen if (presumably on a toss to topple the king) you struck and toppled one of the field kubbs.  Is there any penalty?  If you topple such a kubb, does it then become a kubb that your inkastare must re-establish as one of your team's targets?  If you topple it AND the king, do you still win (or do you lose -- I think losing would be the proper ruling, if indeed the kubb would otherwise become a target for you)?

Regarding question 2, this also makes me wonder why I do not see penalty kubbs established exactly one baton's length behind the king (in the YouTube's I've watched, penalty kubbs seem to be established about a meter diagonally out of the right-hand (from the point of view of the team placing it) corner.

It would seem to me that with the rule being only a single baton's distance, directly behind the King would still would be a very advantageous spot to put a penalty kubb; am I wrong?

3 Answers

+1 vote
answered Jun 26, 2013 by garrickvanburen Kubblic ❚ (7,330 points)
To answer your placement question - 1 baton from the king is a pretty straight-forward shot. The key strategy with a penalty kubb is to place it where the opposing team will likely miss it (or at least waste more than 1 baton on it).

check this thread for more on placement strategy
http://ask.planetkubb.com/1250/which-is-best-place-to-place-a-penalty-kubb
+1 vote
answered Jun 26, 2013 by ChrisHodges Kubblic ❚ (7,300 points)
1) The 'Baton length from any field marking pin' wording is there to prevent two things:

   a: Penalty Kubb placed immediately behind (and thus obscured by) a centerline pin. Such an obstruction could greatly impact a shot.

   b: Penalty Kubb placed immediately in front of (and thus supported by) a back corner pin. This could cause a kubb to remain upright even if struck.

 

2) There is no penalty for striking a field kubb left in play on your half of the pitch during any throwing phase - it is simply returned (as closely as can be determined) to its previous position and orientation. If the king is toppled by such a piece during a legal attack on the king from the baseline then the throwing team wins, in all other situations it is a loss. (Basically, ignore the field kubb in question - it has no bearing on the outcome.)

As far as the right spot to place a Penatly Kubb? Consider your opponent and the conditions - there is no 'always right' answer.
commented Jul 9, 2013 by thingles Kubblic ❚ (6,110 points)
What if, for example with an advantage line, the blaster accidentally clips an opponents field Kubb and that Kubb knocks down others. Are all returned to standing?
commented Jul 9, 2013 by ChrisHodges Kubblic ❚ (7,300 points)
Nope - again, just ignore the field kubb in question as it has no bearing. The field kubbs you toppled stay down, and your opponent's field kubb that you hit is returned to it's prior position and orientation (potentially to be used by you again.)

I'll mention that I've been a part of quite a few games of Kubb, and I don't remember a situation where it would be advantageous to hit a field kubb on your half of the pitch first, but perhaps I'm simply not creative enough. I think the intent of this rule is to ensure that the attacking team is not disadvantaged by a field kubb left in play by their opponents - you don't have to shoot around them, and should you hit one inadvertantly you incur no penalty.
+1 vote
answered Jun 26, 2013 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)

Great questions.

 

1. If penalty kubbs did not have to be placed one baton length from corner stakes, then there would be a situation where a player could place a penalty kubb centered on the sideline, with the corner stake touching the back of the kubb, keeping the kubb upright, even when hit. I think this may be the reasoning for keeping kubbs a little bit away from field marking pins.

 

2a. It is my understanding that if you are shooting to topple the king to win the game legally, and your baton hits a kubb on your side of the pitch, then the kubb hits the king through the course of the motion, you would be declared the winner.

I agree with you from the perspective that this isn't well defined in rules. I am familiar with the US National Ruleset..here is an excerpt from the rulebook:

Sec.I.D:

"The game is won by the team who topples all the kubbs in the upfield and on the baseline then topples the king."
 
"Topple" is defined in the glossary as:
A piece that has been struck by another piece as the result of a throw and becomes parallel to the ground. Pieces that fall over due to wind, uneven ground, or being jostled by a player are NOT considered toppled and should be placed back in their original position prior to the throw.
 

Therefore, in the scenario where a player throws a legal king shot, and the baton hits a kubb into a king and topples the king, then the king would be considered "toppled" by a "game piece" and the game won by the throwing team.

 

Now, let's say that you go for a king shot, hit a kubb on your side of the pitch, and miss the king. What then? The rules do not cover (as well) what to do if you hit your own kubb. I believe the spirit of the game (and looking at some other rules in Sec.II.B.) I would say to place the kubb back to its original position, and you do not get a re-throw. Not stated specifically in the US National Rules, however. This is how I would judge this situation anyway.

 

2b. I think that there are many situations that demand various placements for penalty kubbs. If you are playing a very good team, a kubb a meter behind the king is an easy shot for them. Sometimes you are just looking to soak 2 batons on a kubb to simply stay alive in a game. In this situation, I would not place the kubb behind the king. I think you see specific placement to the right because that is where no kubbs reside on the baseline perhaps. I would look at the post Garrick linked to on the matter of placement. Good stuff.

...