Can a field kubb knock over another field kubb?

0 votes
asked Jul 9, 2013 by menbysk Kubbnoob (160 points)
If a player tosses a stick and knocks over a field kubb, then that field kubb knocks over a 2nd and 3rd field kubb, do the 2nd and 3rd count? The reason I question is that the 2nd and 3rd weren't knocked over by the stick. Thanks

3 Answers

+2 votes
answered Jul 9, 2013 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
Any kubb that is knocked over by any piece (kubb OR baton) as a result of a legal throw is considered toppled, and counts.

If you knock over the last remaining field kubb, then a piece knocks over a baseline kubb, that also counts!

You can also lose the game if you hit a kubb into the king before the end of the game.
0 votes
answered Jul 9, 2013 by thingles Kubblic ❚ (6,110 points)
Absolutely! This type of combination is exactly what the Inkastare and Blaster are trying to setup as often as possible.
0 votes
answered Jul 9, 2013 by Rekubblikanen Ironkubb ✭ (1,550 points)
To complete Dobbies answer, you can actually knock a kubb over with the king too (!) even if its rare, I've only seen it done successfully once. A kubb the inkastare failed to drill bounced in behind the king and the opponents raised it up tight to the kings back with a grim smile, but with a light hit with a baton the king pushed the kubb over without falling itself. I've seen 11-time World Champion Tery Ekelof fail this manouver 2 times too...
commented Jul 9, 2013 by thingles Kubblic ❚ (6,110 points)
Just to clarify. Your saying you can hit the king and NOT topple it, but knock a Kubb over and that is valid. Makes sense. Don't think I would want to try it.
commented Jul 10, 2013 by Rekublikanen, Stockholm
Correct, as long as the king is still standing it's a legal throw.
...