If you hit the Kubb with a helicopter, do you lose?

0 votes
asked Jan 5, 2014 by Woody Kubbnoob (120 points)
If I'm throwing at the king to win the game, do I lose if I toss a helicopter and it falls down?

3 Answers

+3 votes
answered Jan 5, 2014 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
Not sure the answer is in the current rules, actually. Here are some excerpts from the ruleset:

"The game is won by the team who topples all the kubbs in the upfield and on the baseline then topples the king. However, if a team topples the king at any time prior to toppling all field and base kubbs then that team immediately loses the game.
...
Any rules enforced on the throwing team (including warnings) during any throwing phase will result in a forfeiture of the last toss. Reset game components to the positions prior to the last throw. Kubbs thrown on a forfeited toss are to be removed from play and treated as though they were thrown out of bounds.
...
Glossary
Toppled:. A piece that has been struck by another piece as the result of a throw and becomes parallel to the ground. Pieces that fall over due to wind, uneven ground, or being jostled by a player are NOT considered Toppled, and should be placed back in their original position prior to the throw."

My gut says that you lose the baton, the king is stood back up, and you can try again if you have another baton. Since all other kubbs have already been toppled in the scenario question, you wouldn't lose, based on the fist excerpt above.

"if a team topples the king at any time prior to toppling all field and base kubbs"

I would like to hear from USAKubb on a ruling.
commented Jan 13, 2014 by Mike
This happened to my team at Nationals 2013 – my teammate called himself on a bad throw at the king to win. The king went down. The other team wondered if we had just lost, so we called over the tournament director Eric Anderson and he ruled that we reset the king and forfeit only the baton/throw.
commented Jan 15, 2014 by Andreas Pieper Kubbnoob (470 points)
I think you lose the baton, like you would lose it if u hit another kubb in the game.
0 votes
answered Jan 5, 2014 by garrickvanburen Kubblic ❚ (7,350 points)
Yes.

If the other side of the pitch was feeling generous, I suppose they could reset the king and you could take another throw at it with any remaining baton. But really, the polite thing for you to do in that situation is to call 'helicopter' on yourself and forfeit the game.
0 votes
answered Jan 5, 2014 by Dano Ironkubb ✭ (2,330 points)
A semi helicopter toss  up to 45 degrees past verticle is legal according to US Championship rules. Past that it is a illegal  Throw and does not count.would be a hard call to make either way unless it was a pure helicopter toss.
...