Can momentum carry you over the line?

+1 vote
asked Sep 30, 2015 by NeilOH Kubbnoob (480 points)
edited Oct 1, 2015 by NeilOH
The official rules state that you must remain behind the line or in bounds during the throwing motion. When is the motion considered complete?

I have seen many times players momentum carry them across the line, like at 27:45 in this video:

.
commented Oct 1, 2015 by NeilOH Kubbnoob (480 points)
Granted, this is a European match and they have some variations in the rules.
commented Nov 16, 2015 by Jesse (Kalamazoo Kubb)
Neil, I was always taught that your momentum cannot carry you across the baseline and I have seen the type of throw shown in the video as a rule infraction in tournament play.

I'm not sure where (or if) they define when motion is complete in any rules. I think it's more difficult to explain then the NFL's rules on the process of completing a catch. For me, I know it when I see it and is more about their intent. If they are trying to get as close as possible to the line and throw as hard as they can, they better not have their foot carry over the line at all or I'm calling it.
commented Dec 1, 2015 by Evan F Ironkubb ✭ (1,960 points)
Yeah, Jesse is correct for U.S. rules.  You are supposed to have both feet behind the line set and under control after the throw.  This is something I have had to be more aware after watching myself play on video.  I have a tendency to lift my back foot up during my 4m toss on king shots and appears to carry through over the line.  Technically it is illegal and something I have had to practice after Nats this year to avoid.  

I believe the original intent is so people can't jump over the line and get closer to a kubb to hit.  I have seen a lot of videos from Europe where it is common to follow through after the throw.

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Nov 18, 2015 by NeilOH Kubbnoob (480 points)
 
Best answer

Neil, I was always taught that your momentum cannot carry you across the baseline and I have seen the type of throw shown in the video as a rule infraction in tournament play.

I'm not sure where (or if) they define when motion is complete in any rules. I think it's more difficult to explain then the NFL's rules on the process of completing a catch. For me, I know it when I see it and is more about their intent. If they are trying to get as close as possible to the line and throw as hard as they can, they better not have their foot carry over the line at all or I'm calling it.

Thanks Jesse, that's what I thought as well. 

...