The perfect game [poll]

0 votes
asked Jun 23, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
You go 5 for 5 on your teams oppening toss. What should you get to do with your sixth? Depending on the ruleset, you can either forfeit the last baton, or try to win. What are your thoughts?
Choices:
Forfeit (1 vote)
Win (4 votes)
Something Different (3 votes)

5 Answers

+1 vote
answered Jun 23, 2012 by C=mxcXKubbSection Ironkubb ✭ (1,330 points)
A perfect game is a perfect game! That's why you have six batons!
commented Jun 23, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
Can you name another sport in the world where you can win a game with your opponents' doing nothing at all? "Perfect games" in all other sports still allow your opponents to do something.
commented Jun 25, 2012 by C=mxcXKubbSection Ironkubb ✭ (1,330 points)
I don't have to, Kubb has the right to bear some unique features of it's own! ;)
commented Jun 25, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
A more appropriate argument to my response may be: "opponents have an opportunity to win the toss, so Dobbie, your argument is invalid"

If the opponent truly did nothing (which our Dutch frinds pointed out that they have an initial baton toss, and generally a match is played) you couldn't call kubb a sport, or the perfect game a "feature". But alas, the opponents do something, so I suffered from argument-fail.

I like the idea of "one perfect game per team" or something to off-set possibly getting 2 perfect games. But through this interaction and constructive arguments, I am seeing why people like and enjoy "perfect game" rules.
+1 vote
answered Jun 25, 2012 by EricGoplin Ironkubb ✭ (3,200 points)
There is nothing more bad *** in the kubb world the calmly walking that sixth baton over to your opponent like you've done before and will do it again.

I do think you should forfeit the baton though, at least for now. What fun would it be for a team to drive to a tournament or come out for their very first ever tournament and be in a 0-1 hole without throwing anything?

I'm with most of the rest of you though - if a team went 5 for 5 against me, I'd tell them to go for it and complete the six for six just for fun. We'd set up the king and continue playing.  

Now that I think of it, what would be REALLY bad *** is if you went 5 for 5 and then just knocked over the king anyway going 6 for 6. You'd have lost the game but you'd let the other team know what's up.
commented Jun 26, 2012 by THansenite Ironkubb ✭ (2,660 points)
Haha, I like the last part about losing the game just to go 6 for 6.  That would be pretty bad ***.
0 votes
answered Jun 23, 2012 by jakefreeberg Ironkubb ✭ (2,030 points)
Yeah I think it's anticlimatic to just drop that last baton and not go for the king. That said, I don't think it needs to win you the game if you pull it off.

You're opponent should get their chance to try and do the same thing (with just the base line) and create what is undeniably the closest thing to a tie that Kubb offers.

If you opponent doesn't pull it off, I don't have a problem with resetting the baseline and having them throw the field kubbs if they want... It'd be a hell of a game to try and recover from.

What ruleset do we have for nationals? I think your opponent should almost get to decide some how.
commented Jun 23, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
Jake, US Nationals rules state you forfeit your last baton.

WC rules and pretty much everywhere in Europe you can go for the king and finish the Perfect game.
commented Jun 23, 2012 by jakefreeberg Ironkubb ✭ (2,030 points)
Well, If you are playing against my Team in the nationals, I will let that last baton king shot count as your "forfeit". You won't "win" if you make that shot because it'd be against the rules and because we'd like to try and beat a team that got our entire baseline in the first turn (especially a 3 person team). I don't have any problem with "reseting" the king in this sort of a situation, or with using way too many "quotation marks" in this comment.
commented Jun 24, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
I "don't" mind quotes used awkwardly, and it would be neat to see if a team could seal the deal. Another concept is that since a match is best of 3, you could just allow one perfect game per team in a match. Or not allow a "Perfect game" in the first game of a match. Has any of us had to forfeit a baton with a team? Perhaps a perfect game "prize" if a team pulls it off, but "you" reset the king, and toss 5 kubbs to their side. Dunno?
0 votes
answered Jun 24, 2012 by KubbHW Ironkubb ✭ (2,430 points)
Of couse my answer is "win"!

I think a "perfect game" is the most beautiful you can imagine in a game of kubb. Why should it be illegal?  Why should you punnish a team that’s throwing the batons so well? OK, you have no chance to respond. But you had a chance to win the toss!!! And mostly more than one game is played in a match, so the next game you throw first and you have the possibility to throw a perfect game.

For this, the toss should be considered to be a real part of the game. It’s a pity the WC rules only say you must decide who begins and says nothing in which way this must be decided. For tossing by throwing to the king, you must throw well. It’s not only luck, as it would be when tossing with a coin.

So if the toss is considered to be a part of the game, there’s nothing wrong with a perfect game! I don’t like a perfect game to be forbidden. I’d like that a perfect game is rewarded with a prize on every tournament. Like a hole in one in golf often is.
commented Jun 24, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
Good points! One could almost say with the Perfect Game allowed the most important toss in kubb is the opening toss.

This adds slightly more validity to the claim that the opening toss IS more important than drilling:

http://desmoineskubb.com/blog/42-the-answer-to-life-the-universe-and-baseline-percentages-

Excerpt from the blog: "Chris' research shows that throwing first in a game gives you a 75% chance of winning, assuming both teams are similar in skill level. "
0 votes
answered Jun 28, 2012 by anonymous
If it is "Win", here is the most likely scenario, as it will most likely happen with the elite teams.

2012 Final. Team Knockerheads vs. Tad Kubbler. Both teams have been playing 90 minutes. Tad Kubbler won the opening toss and won the first game and won in 20 minutes. The next game is a battle and 8, 9, 10 kubbs are going back and forth. No team ever moves up. The crowd is going crazy. Finally Dwayne from Team Knockerheads has one shot at the king and downs it. Both teams switch sides. It is 1pm in Eau Claire. Tad Kubbler lines up and Anders goes two for two, Cole goes two for two, then Eric G. goes one for one. He takes aim at the king and knocks it down. Game, Match, Championship.

The Championship is over. Tad Kubbler has won the U.S. National Kubb Championship. In Game 3, Team Knockerheads never touched a baton. Good? Bad? Does not matter?
commented Jun 28, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
If any team is going to forfeit a baton at Nationals, it's likely to be Tad Kubbler! I'll say this....maybe Knockerheads should have won the toss in the above scenario.

In boxing, if the first punch you get hit with lays a boxer out they don't let the KO'd guy have one free punch to see if he can do the same (although a disoriented boxer trying this would be funny to watch).
commented Jun 28, 2012 by anonymous
In boxing, both boxers have the opportunity to throw the first punch or to throw the first punch at the same time. They don't flip a coin or see who has the hardest punch to see who punches first. In addition, in boxing there is defense. One can argue that tossing the kubbs is defense in kubb.
commented Jun 29, 2012 by EricGoplin Ironkubb ✭ (3,200 points)
I hope Tad Kubbler can live up to the hype here! You know that Knockerheads win every tournament they enter, right? All they do is win. Eric A told me if they win this year Ikea is donating a shelf for all their trophies ;)
...