Do perfect Kubb matches happen much?

0 votes
asked Feb 19, 2012 by thingles Kubblic ❚ (6,110 points)
If you throw perfect the first team to throw could knock all 5 kubbs down and hit the king with the last baton. Does this happen much even at the international level?

3 Answers

+1 vote
answered Feb 21, 2012 by EricGoplin Ironkubb ✭ (3,200 points)
edited Feb 21, 2012 by admin
Technically a perfect game is not allowed under the World & U.S. Championship Rules. A team starting the match hitting down all of their opponent's base kubbs with their first 5 throws must give up their 6th shot and allow the other team a turn.

However, in all my years of kubb I've never seen a team go 5 for 5 with their opening turn. It happens while people practice in the yard, but the pressure goes up in competitive matches. I have seen teams go 5 for 6.
commented Feb 21, 2012 by thingles Kubblic ❚ (6,110 points)
It's good that there is a rule to at least give the team throwing second a chance.
+1 vote
answered Feb 21, 2012 by desmoineskubb Ironkubb ✭ (4,390 points)
U.S. Nationals rules state that if you go 5 for 5, you forfeit your last baton. At the international level (6 player teams) my assumption is that this happens less often that at U.S. Nationals.

However, our club has entertained the ideas of the "4 to start" variant for tournaments, but it never really stuck due to the fact that we had never seen 5 for 5. A few 5 for 6's, but never the perfect game.

Personally, I think the idea of "5 to start" is worth testing out, especially for 1v1 and 2v2 teams. As you may have read, our clubs stats are heavily weighed to the first thrower. While this may be the style of play, the low amount of players per team, or any other possible factors, it may be right for our club. Only more data will tell, which we continue to gather as the game becomes more accessible in the states.

Once I went 5 for 5 and had to forfeit a baton on a team of 2 when visiting a friend in Eau Claire...I'll never forget that match; 1 in probably 200+ matches I have played.
0 votes
answered Feb 21, 2012 by jakefreeberg Ironkubb ✭ (2,030 points)
We actually have a sort of house rule where if you are playing a 2v2 match and you go 3 for 3 with your baseline throws on the first turn, the same player gets to try and go for the "perfect game" and see if you are that hot.

I've probably seen it happen 3 or 4 times.

I actually think there may be some sort of rule around it where the opposing team gets to try and answer that play on the first turn, but I don't know how much it happens in tournaments.
...