What happens when my still standing field kubb is knocked over by my opponents thrown field kubb?

+1 vote
asked Jul 28, 2012 by Sibelius Kubbnoob (360 points)
retagged Jul 28, 2012 by thingles
I am right-handed and throw 8 kubbs to short-side mid-field.  I knock down 7 and leave 1 standing about a half meter from the center line.   My left-handed opponent throws back 7 kubbs to his short-side mid-field, (close to my lone standing kubb).  One of his thrown kubbs knocks my standing kubb across mid-field and out-of-bounds.  What happens to my kubb?
commented Sep 28, 2013 by Kubb Kubbnoob (120 points)
And what happens if I knock down my kubb (kubb which is in my field) with baton (yes, probably I'm not the smartest person in the world), but those two kubbs (the one I knocked down in my field and the one in opponents field were very close to each other). So, as I understand from this topic - I just put my kubb back into it's position and keep tossing my batons? Thanks!

4 Answers

+1 vote
answered Jul 28, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
I belive your kubb is setup (immediatley after the toss impacting your kubb) back in its original location. Your opponents kubb is played 'as is', meaning they don't get to rethrow it. Please coorect me if I'm wrong, world!
commented Jul 30, 2012 by Evan F Ironkubb ✭ (1,960 points)
I wasn't able to find this scenario in the rules.  What if the thrown kubb lands in play, would it still be considered a legal toss?
+1 vote
answered Jul 30, 2012 by THansenite Ironkubb ✭ (2,660 points)
My understanding is that when you are throwing, any piece on your side of the center line is not considered in play.  Much like if you hit a baseline when there are still fields standing, the baseline is not considered "in play" and is set back up in its previous spot.
commented Jul 30, 2012 by Dobbie Kubblic ❚ (6,450 points)
That is my understanding as well, however it is not addressed specifically in the US Nat rule set. Something as simple as adding: "kubbs not in the upfield that are impacted by any throw are reset to their previous position, and the result of the throw counts, and cannot be redone" would clear this up.
0 votes
answered Jul 30, 2012 by Evan F Ironkubb ✭ (1,960 points)
I would have probably placed the field kubb to it's original location, removed the thrown Kubb  and had the player rethrow the kubb as a 2nd throw after all the first kubb tosses were completed.
0 votes
answered Aug 5, 2012 by KubbHW Ironkubb ✭ (2,430 points)
I agree with Dobbie and THansenite.
...