The question to be asked here and also at http://ask.planetkubb.com/528/kubb-raising-question-photo is: is the centerpin part of the game. The World Championship rules says there are 4 corner stakes and nowhere in the WC rules are centerpins, not in the text, not in the images. So you could say centerpins are no part of the game. But at all tournaments I've been to, centerpins are used to setup the pitch...
I play kubb since 2007 and I have never seen a centerpin taken out during the play until may this year when I was at a tournament in Belgium (I'm from Holland). The opponent had thrown a few kubbs near the centerpin and before they started to throw the battons, they removed the centerpin, so it wasn't in the way when throwing the battons to the group of kubbs. They told us this was allowed.
A month later, when we were playing a tournament in Holland, we talked about this with someone who has been to the World Championships a several times. He confirmed it was allowed and even told us that at the World Championships it is customary to lay down the centerpin in the extension of the middle line with its point at the hole. I have never been to the World Championships, so if someone tells me this is the way it's done at the WC, who am I to disagree?
I must say: I had to get used to it. Now suddenly several times in a game the centerpin was taken out the ground. While it had never been taken out the previous years. And it's a little awkward: the hole in the ground gets bigger and bigger during the tournament and the centerpins got more and more unstable.
And later I thought: If it's allowed for the attacking team to remove the centerpin, is it also allowed for the defending team? Some inkasters use the centerpin. If you're allowed to take it away, you could easily eliminate this advantage of the centerpin being there.
And then Dobbie asked the "Kubb raising question" (http://ask.planetkubb.com/528/kubb-raising-question-photo) at Ask Planet Kubb. I answered it by saying you should remove the centerpin temporarily and I was really curious about the reactions it would produce. And indeed a nice discussion started...
Personally I agree with EricGoplin: once the centerpin is there, it's there and it should not be removed during the game. But opionions don't count: you must know the rules.
Best way to deal with this is the way the US Championships rules did: they say the game components contain 6 field marking stakes. So here it's clear that the centerpins are part of the game and cannot be taken out. But as I mentioned before: in the WC rules only corner stakes are mentioned and centerpins do not exist. And I think the WC rules must be leading.
So what we do now? Who has been to the World Championships and know if it is allowed indeed to temporary remove the centerpin? (assuming they are using a centerpin, although it's not in the rules...)